Home Facebook Twitter PayPal
The Coleopterists Society - An International Society Devoted to the Study of Beetles
< Go Back back to Society Information / Prizes & Awards

Coleopterists Society Honorary Members

Recognizing devotion to the Society and dedication to the discipline

Ross H. Arnett, Jr. Ross H. Arnett, Jr. † (1919-1999)
Founder of The Coleopterists Society and The Coleopterists Bulletin
Patricia Vaurie Patricia Vaurie † (1909-1982)
Henry F. Howden Henry F. Howden † (1925-2014)
President 1968, 1969
Edward C. Becker Edward C. Becker † (1923-2008)
President 1972
Editor 1982-1990
George E. Ball George E. Ball
President 1973
Charles A. Triplehorn Charles A. Triplehorn
President 1976
Anne T. Howden Anne T. Howden † (-2016)
President 1983
Steve Ashe James Stephen "Steve" Ashe † (1947-2005)
President 1990
Michael A. Ivie Michael A. Ivie
President 1991-1992
Brett C. Ratcliffe Brett C. Ratcliffe
President 1984
Secretary 1995-2010
Councilor 1989-1990
Monograph Co-editor 2005-2006
Daniel K. Young Daniel K. Young
President 1994
Councilor 1984-1986 and 2002-2004
Editorial Board 1997-1999
Awards Committee 1997-2004
Nominations Committee 2008-2009
Member since 1980
Chuck Bellamy Chuck Bellamy † (1951-2013)
President 2003-2004
Councilor 1993-1994
Investment officer 2010-2012
Website coordinator 2006-2008
Book review editor 1993-2002
Editor of the monograph series 2009-2012
Member 1973-2013
Horace R. Burke Horace R. Burke † (-2016)
President 1979
Councilor 1974 and 1983-1985
Chair Editorial Board 1988-1990
Member since 1969
Terry L. Erwin Terry L. Erwin
Treasurer 1972-1986
Newsletter editor 1978-1981
Councilor 2000-2001
Member since 1964

Nomination criteria include the following required attributes:
  1. Sustained, active membership in The Coleopterists Society.
  2. Past service to The Coleopterists Society (elected or delegated or voluntary).
  3. Advancement of coleopterology nationally and/or internationally.
  4. Sustained history of publication in The Coleopterists Bulletin and/or other Society publicatons.
Additional, non-required criteria that strongly support selection are:
  1. Contributions to public collections of Coleoptera.
  2. Development of research resources on Coleoptera.
  3. Substantive development of teaching resources on Coleoptera.
  4. Training of future coleopterists.
  5. Promoting appreciation of beetles to the public through popular books/articles, museum exhibitions, public lectures, etc.
Process for nominating future Honorary Members
  1. There will be no more than one Honorary Member elected each year.
  2. Nominations can be submitted by any current member.
  3. The full Executive Committee will vote to decide between multiple nominees, or to decide if a single nominee meets the minimum standards.
  4. If there are no nominees or if none of those nominated in a given year are ratified by the Executive Committee, there will be no honoree that year and the nominees will not be rolled over to the next year.
  5. Nominations should be submitted to the President of the Society, with a copy submitted to the Secretary, prior to March 1st to ensure consideration for a given year.
Contents of the Award
  • Honorary Members will have their names listed on the inside cover of the Bulletin in perpetuity.
  • The Society will pay the dues and the Honorary Members will receive the Bulletin for the rest of their respective lives.
N.B. Honorary Members who wish to continue to support the Society by paying annual dues may select another member or colleague, e.g. student or foreign colleague, to support with these dues.

Join the Society or pay membership dues, purchase monographs or special publications, or pay pages charges.
Interested in a tax deductible charitable contribution to the Coleopterists Society? More details here...
The Coleopterists Bulletin The Coleopterists Bulletin, current issue vol. 71(4). Founded in 1947 by Ross H. Arnett, Jr., The Coleopterists Bulletin is a refereed quarterly journal, which includes a wide variety of articles on taxonomy and ecology of beetles (Coleoptera). More...
Distributed European School of Taxonomy
DEST logo The Distributed European School of Taxonomy (DEST), an initiative under the CETAF umbrella and managed by RBINS, has announced its training programme for 2015-2016! More...
See you at the 2017 Annual Meeting!

© 2007-2018 The Coleopterists Society | Website Coordinator
The Coleopterists Society is a 501(C)3 corporation.